Ask Us Anything - A Series of Spirited Conversations with Jennifer McClure

Contact Name:
Hamidah Glasgow
Phone:
9702241010
E-mail:
contact@c4fap.org
Filed in:
Things to do near Fort Collins, CO » Online » Performing-and-Visual-Arts

Ask Us Anything - A Series of Spirited Conversations with Jennifer McClure

The third in a series of Spirited Conversations, photographer Jennifer McClure and Hamidah Glasgow, Executive Director of the Center for Fine Art Photography, will take a range of questions from photography to personal.
Join us for a Q&A Zoom conversation by registering at: askusanything@c4fap.org

Thursday, June 25th
4pm Pacific Time
5pm Mountain Time
6pm Central Time
7pm Eastern Time
 
The conversation will take place via Zoom. Please RSVP by emailing: askusanything@c4fap.org
Once you are registered you will receive the Zoom number on the day of the conversation.


Jennifer McClure is a fine art photographer based in New York City. She uses the camera to ask and answer questions. Her work is about longing, solitude, and an ambivalent yearning for connection. She often uses herself and her experiences as subject matter to explore the creation of personal mythology and the agency of identity.

After an early start, Jennifer returned to photography in 2001, taking classes at the School of Visual Arts and the International Center of Photography. In between, she acquired a B.A. in English Theory and Literature and began a long career in restaurants. Most of her projects today incorporate her love of literature; one series was inspired by a short story, another includes photos of transformative texts, still another draws titles from a long-form poem. She founded the Women’s Photo Alliance in 2015.

Jennifer was a 2019 and 2017 Critical Mass Top 50 finalist and twice received the Arthur Griffin Legacy Award from the Griffin Museum of Photography. She was awarded CENTER’s Editor’s Choice by Susan White of Vanity Fair in 2013 and has been exhibited in numerous shows across the country. Her work has been featured in publications such as Vogue, GUP, The New Republic, Lenscratch, Feature Shoot, L’Oeil de la Photographie, The Photo Review, Dwell, Adbusters, and PDN. Lectures include the School of Visual Arts i3: Images, Ideas, Inspiration series, Fotofusion, FIT, NY Photo Salon and Columbia Teacher’s College. She has taught workshops for Leica Akademie, PDN’s PhotoPlus Expo, the Maine Media Workshops, the Griffin Museum, and Fotofusion. She was a thesis reviewer and advisor for the Masters Programs at both the School of Visual Arts and New Hampshire Institute of Art.

http://www.eventsnearhere.com/find-events/CO/FORT-COLLINS/Online/Performing-and-Visual-Arts/addetail/158657/Ask-Us-Anything---A-Series-of-Spirited-Conversations-with-Jennifer-McClure

Online Event Access

Click Here For Online Event Access

Street Address


Fort Collins, CO 80521

Dates

through
  View Calendar